Gluten Free Oats
Are Oats Gluten Free?
Gluten free oats: what are they and where can you buy them?
Gluten free oats are processed with special care to avoid contamination by glutinous
grains. Farm equipment and processing bins for oats
are often used for other grains. So small amounts of wheat, barley, or rye (glutinous grains)
can get mixed with the oats making them unsuitable for consumption by people with gluten allergies (Celiacs). Even the dust in the air of a grain
processing plant can be enough to contaminate the oats.
If gluten is a problem for you, here are some things about oats you need to know:
The levels of gluten contamination in standard oats may not be enough to cause a problem for people with mild
gluten allergies. So it may not be necessary to buy these more expensive type oats.
Uncontaminated oats are not necessarily gluten free. A small percentage of Celiacs still have an allergic response to these specialty oats.
This has led many researchers to believe that oats contain some type of gluten. Unfortunately, until there are advancements in gluten
detection techniques, no definitive statement can be made about the safety of oats for Celiacs. That being said, most Celiacs handle
"gluten free" oats well.
Here are some links for where to buy oats, oatmeal, and oat flour that are gluten free online:
Gluten Free Mall
Offers online shopping for those on gluten-free diets.
Amazon's shipping prices are reasonable and on some products, free. To make your search easier, click on our Amazon link, we have already organized all of Amazon's gluten free oat products for you.
More Oat Recipes
Best Oatmeal Cookie Recipe
Steel Cut Oats
History of Oats
Benefits of Oatmeal
Gluten Free Oats